February 12, 2012, 03:50:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Phishing e-mail or the real one?


AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Phishing e-mail or the real one?  (Read 1809 times)
RX7
Guest
« on: October 29, 2005, 12:05:04 PM »

Hi there
Few days ago received an e-mail supposedly sent by PayPal. I think it is a phishing e-mail, as the link in it looks suspicious. Or is it genuine? Please reply ASAP.

The message:

From: service@paypal.com
Subject: PayPal - Credit/Debit Card Update

PayPal - Credit/Debit Card Update

Due to concerns for the safety and integrity of the paypal account we have
issued this warning message.
It has come to our attention that your account information needs to be updated
due to inactive members, frauds and spoof reports.
If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and renew
your records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
This notification expires in 2 days. After that your account will be locked.

Once you have updated your account records your paypal account service will not
be interrupted and will continue as normal.
Please follow the link below and login to your account and renew your account information
<a
href="http://mail.jangup.com/https:/www.paypal.com/secure/ssl/resolution_center/index.php">https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-r
un</a>


We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and appreciate your
assistance in helping us maintain the integrity of the entire PayPal
system. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.



Sincerely,

The PayPal Customer Team

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be
answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the
"Help" link in the header of any page.

Copyright & 2005 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Logged
styx.
Guest
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2005, 10:25:49 AM »

It is a phishing e-mail. I'm absolutely sure about this one. Just take a closer look on the link it contains. It actually doesn't lead to www.paypal.com web site, but to malicious mail.jangup.com domain. Do NOT follow it!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  




Recommended software:
STOPzilla
(90/100)
STOPzilla is a powerful anti-spyware program that detects, blocks, and removes malicious software allowing users to surf the Web not worrying about spyware, Trojan horses,...
Malwarebytes Anti Malware
(88/100)
There are loads of malware removers on the net today and most of them are lightweight applications, which usually means they’re fast and don’t...
Spyware Doctor
(87/100)
Spyware Doctor is a very powerful, but yet highly user-friendly spyware remover, made by PC Tools, reputable computer security experts. This product provides effective and...
SpyHunter
(86/100)
SpyHunter is a quite simple, but yet highly effective spyware remover with an easy-to-use interface. This program is an excellent choice for users, who are...
XoftSpySE Anti Spyware
(84/100)
XoftSpySE, an anti-spyware program made by ParetoLogic, Inc., is a simple, but effective on-demand scanner with the typical set of functions but very easy to...
Encyclopedia of parasites:

Spreading the knowledge:

It is very hard to fight Computer parasites alone in internet space. If you have a website we would be more than happy if you would help us to spread the knowledge about latest threats. You can help your visitors to manage their Computer system manually without aditional expences. Knowledge is the power, we just need to spread it.
add text box
rss feed
help other