Register   FAQ   Login  

Phishing e-mail or the real one?





AddThis Social Bookmark Button AddThis Feed Button

       2-spyware forum index -> Spam and e-mail issues
Author Message
RX7
Guest





Post Post subject: Phishing e-mail or the real one? Reply with quote

Hi there
Few days ago received an e-mail supposedly sent by PayPal. I think it is a phishing e-mail, as the link in it looks suspicious. Or is it genuine? Please reply ASAP.

The message:

From: service@paypal.com
Subject: PayPal - Credit/Debit Card Update

PayPal - Credit/Debit Card Update

Due to concerns for the safety and integrity of the paypal account we have
issued this warning message.
It has come to our attention that your account information needs to be updated
due to inactive members, frauds and spoof reports.
If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and renew
your records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
This notification expires in 2 days. After that your account will be locked.

Once you have updated your account records your paypal account service will not
be interrupted and will continue as normal.
Please follow the link below and login to your account and renew your account information
<a
href="http://mail.jangup.com/https:/www.paypal.com/secure/ssl/resolution_center/index.php">https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-r
un</a>


We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and appreciate your
assistance in helping us maintain the integrity of the entire PayPal
system. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.



Sincerely,

The PayPal Customer Team

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be
answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the
"Help" link in the header of any page.

Copyright & 2005 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:05 pm
Back to top
RX7
 
styx.
Guest





Post Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a phishing e-mail. I'm absolutely sure about this one. Just take a closer look on the link it contains. It actually doesn't lead to www.paypal.com web site, but to malicious mail.jangup.com domain. Do NOT follow it!
Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:25 pm
Back to top
styx.
 
       2-spyware forum index -> Spam and e-mail issues All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Recommended software:
Spyware Doctor
(91/100)
Spyware Doctor is a very powerful, but yet highly user-friendly spyware remover, made by PC Tools, reputable computer security experts. This product provides effective and easy-to-manage...
SUPERAntiSpyware
(89/100)
SUPERAntiSpyware is a powerful, highly effective spyware remover introducing advanced parasite detection and removal features along with reliable real-time protection. The program is not...
CounterSpy
(85/100)
CounterSpy is a powerful spyware remover based on revolutionary hybrid engine, which incorporates traditional anti-spyware and advanced antivirus engines. Such combination allows CounterSpy...
Malwarebytes Anti Malware
(75/100)
There are loads of malware removers on the net today and most of them are lightweight applications, which usually means they’re fast and don’t have many features. One such...
Windows Defender
(75/100)
Windows Defender is a free anti-spyware program made by the leading software company to add native spyware protection to its most popular product - the Microsoft Windows operating...
Encyclopedia of parasites: