Deceptive site ahead. How to remove? (Uninstall guide)

removal by Ugnius Kiguolis - - | Type: System tools
12

What does “Deceptive Site Ahead” warning mean?

When browsing the Web, you might encounter “Deceptive Site Ahead” warning that informs about potentially dangerous content and prevents you from entering a particular website. Google Safe Browsing services[1] have created this message in order to protect people from unsafe online content. This service scans websites and looks for deceptive buttons, for instance, they might be download buttons[2] that install software from unrelated and unreliable third-party sources. “Deceptive Site Ahead” message might also show up before entering social engineering[3] websites, for example, phishing[4] or deceptive sites. Internet sites that are marked as potentially dangerous might trick people to install suspicious software or disclose sensitive information. Therefore, before entering an unreliable site, it is likely you will see this message:

Deceptive site ahead.
Attackers on [site url] may trick you into doing something dangerous like installing software or revealing your personal information (for example, passwords, phone numbers, or credit cards).

Seeing “Deceptive Site Ahead” warning should not make you worried about your computer’s safety. It’s not infected yet. This is merely a warning that it is better to keep away from the website you were attempting to visit. By clicking on the details and choosing to simply ignore the warning you can continue to the desired site, yet it is not recommended. Of course, some legitimate sites may be flagged as well because of the advertising displayed on them, but such issue can be fixed with a little bit of effort. The webmaster of the flagged website has to visit a special Google support page[5] which offers a guide explaining how to get rid of deceptive site ahead warning. Then, the potentially deceptive content of the site has to be indicated. It can be done via Google Webmaster Tools. The removal itself may take a while because the website administrators must find and terminate the sources of the potentially dangerous content. Only then, the site can be reviewed and evaluated by Google. Despite the lengthy procedure, the legitimate sites usually deal with this issue, not to scare away the visitors. Therefore, usually, the sites which display “deceptive site ahead” instead of their site’s content should be avoided.

What sites does Google mark as potentially dangerous?

Essentially, there are three types of potentially dangerous sites which may be included into Googles “black list”:

  1. Sites that pretend their content to be legitimate and trusted;
  2. Sites which content tries to trick the users into sharing login details or calling tech support;
  3. Sites which contain deceptive download buttons.

On 2-spyware.com, we have already discussed a number of such sites. Any of the browser hijacker websites can fall under the first category of websites that may act as a legitimate search engine, including Delta-homes.com, Yoursites123 and similar. The second category is usually associated with sites which spread adware and scareware-type programs, such as Intelli-support-assistant.com or Adsystemscan.com. Finally, the fake download buttons can be inserted into any random sites, especially, on obscure software download, file-sharing sites, etc. Nevertheless, sometimes the malicious website creators may bypass the Google filter and load regularly on your browser. In such case, you should keep your system equipped with a reputable antivirus tool, such as Reimage.

How to get rid of “Deceptive Site Ahead” messages?

Even though it is not advisable to remove “Deceptive Site Ahead” filter from your browser, you can do that by following these simple steps:

  1. Start Google Chrome.
  2. Click “Menu” or “More” icon in the upper-right corner.
  3. Select “Settings” and “Show advanced settings”.
  4. Go to “Privacy” and deselect “Protect you and your device from dangerous sites.”

If you follow these instructions, your browser should not display such warning messages anymore. However, you will have to protect your computer from the cyber threats by some other means. We recommend obtaining a reliable antivirus and anti-malware protection system, which is capable of eliminating viruses from your computer as well as guarding you against these threats in real-time browsing. Take our advice and strengthen your computer’s security with Reimage.

We might be affiliated with any product we recommend on the site. Full disclosure in our Agreement of Use. By Downloading any provided Anti-spyware software to remove Deceptive site ahead you agree to our privacy policy and agreement of use.
do it now!
Download
Reimage (remover) Happiness
Guarantee
Download
Reimage (remover) Happiness
Guarantee
Compatible with Microsoft Windows Compatible with OS X
What to do if failed?
If you failed to remove infection using Reimage, submit a question to our support team and provide as much details as possible.
Reimage is recommended to uninstall Deceptive site ahead. Free scanner allows you to check whether your PC is infected or not. If you need to remove malware, you have to purchase the licensed version of Reimage malware removal tool.

More information about this program can be found in Reimage review.

More information about this program can be found in Reimage review.

About the author

Ugnius Kiguolis
Ugnius Kiguolis - The mastermind

If this free removal guide helped you and you are satisfied with our service, please consider making a donation to keep this service alive. Even a smallest amount will be appreciated.

More information about the author

References

Removal guides in other languages


  • HemmingwayFan2010

    I disabled these warnings a long time ago. Theyre just simply annoying

  • Kelly

    Good thing that such filters are integrated in chrome, no wonder its one of the safest browsers