Skip to content
  • Active
  • Severity: High
  • Malware
  • Windows
  • Verified · May 2021

How to remove Google Critical Security Alert

A step-by-step removal guide for affected devices. Follow the verified procedure below — most readers complete it in under 10 minutes.

Gabriel E. Hall · Passionate web researcher

Google Critical Security alert – a scam notification that you might receive via your Gmail

Critical Security alert image

Google Critical Security alert is a fraudulent message which has been actively spreading around within the Gmail inbox. The email from no-reply@accounts or similar email addresses claims that someone just used your password to try to sign in to your account. Users are also advised to check the activity by clicking a button below the text. However, experts warn that the alert is set to trick users into revealing their email account credentials to cybercriminals or installing malicious software on their devices. Therefore, you should never click on the embedded links inside, regardless of how realistic and believable the buttons look and feel (especially if it comes from an unrecognized account).

Nevertheless, the tech giant uses sophisticated technology to recognize and warn users about an illegitimate login attempt from a different device. For that reason, many warnings from Google are legitimate and should not be ignored. Those who use such services as VPN and Proxy[1] might encounter several Google security alert email messages due to a different IP login, so the case is not always related to phishing.

Name Google Critical Security alert
Type Malware/scam/fake alert
Also known as Critical Security alert; Gmail Security Alert
Danger level Medium. Users can be tricked into exposing their account credentials or lured into downloading malicious programs
Symptoms Victims receive an email in their Gmail inbox which warns about unauthorized sign-in; they are encouraged to take precautionary measures to prevent unauthorized activity
Distribution Malicious spam emails
Elimination If you clicked on a suspicious link, you should scan your device with anti-malware software and then change your passwords immediately
System fix In case security software flagged something malicious on your device, use FortectIntego to attempt to fix the registry database and other system parts to remediate the machine after the infection

It is not new that attackers are creating legitimate-looking emails to trick people into compromising their systems. Note that the email contains a fake logo and appears as a real notification. Unfortunately, people should be aware of this alert and learn how to identify this phishing[2] scam.

The message displayed by the Critical Security alert scam contains the following text:

Someone just used your password to try and sign in to your account. Google blocked them, but you should check what happened. 

[CHECK ACTIVITY]

Furthermore, if you click on the “CHECK ACTIVITY” button included in the email, there is a substantial risk that you will be redirected to a malicious site. In this case, hackers can develop another spoofed Gmail log-in page where you would submit your credentials directly to the attackers without even knowing it. 

Google Critical Security alert

Additionally, the scam email might be used to distribute other malicious programs and aim to infect computers worldwide. Likewise, experts warn about potential ransomware[3] or malware attacks if you click on the content included in the fake alert.

We strongly advise you to stay cautious and remove Google Critical Security alert email together with related cyber threats if you clicked on anything suspicious. It might be hard to identify the malicious activity as it is usually performed in the background. Thus, scan your computer with a reliable antivirus, such as SpyHunterCombo Cleaner or MalwarebytesMalwarebytes.

After Google the removal is completed, we suggest using the FortectIntego app – it might help you fix virus damage related to Windows system files. Also, if you believe that criminals might have stolen your credentials, change all your passwords immediately.

Legitimate Google warnings sparked some concerns among security experts

The community using Google services got really concerned about the issue, and many rushed to social media like Twitter to report the problem. The industry giant does not specify what security problems users are facing. So most people simply click on the link and are guided through the procedure.

Unfortunately, it is not that hard for hackers to imitate these steps, as was the case with the Google Critical Security Alert email scam. Therefore, several security analysts and social engineering experts showed concerns:[4]

It’s already in my template brochure to be used against corporates it’s that good. Unforgivable for Google to send this out en mass.

We have templates that we use to phish corporates (ethical testing) this email from Google is suitable to go straight in as it has urgency, guides to a login page, quite vague but alarming… we used to take legitimate Google emails and adapt… but this is just perfect as is.

The tech company said that these types of alerts were designed to go through a set of checks that would help users protect their accounts from hacking attempts and other dangers. Additionally, these messages cannot contain too much information about the possible security breach, as this data would only benefit the attacker.

Critical Security alert might be real

Because the email from Google might be legitimate, further investigation is required. In fact, there is a higher chance of receiving a legit email than a fake one. Regardless of the situation, each instance should be carefully examined, as careless clicking on links might lead to severe consequences (note that many scam emails are recognized and put into the Spam box).

In case you are not sure if an email from Google saying Critical Security Alert is real or not, you should navigate to the checkup page manually at myaccount.google.com/security-checkup and see what is going on there. Clicking on random links is never advisable, and cybercrooks are often very good at producing high-quality phishing emails that can compromise personal information and make users install malicious software on their devices.

Malicious spam emails might hide malware inside

A vast of cyber threats are delivered via spam emails. This is a well-known malware distribution technique that is widely employed by criminals worldwide. Unfortunately, people still lack expertise in the IT field to identify phishing emails to protect their private information, finances, and computer. 

Fraudulent emails are designed to impersonate a legitimate company or governmental institution, notify about a problem, create some sort of an urge to fix it by opening an attachment or clicking on the link. However, at this point, users who click on email content do not resolve an issue rather than install a malicious program. 

Experts[5] note that despite how legitimate the email looks, you should always contact the company directly and ask to confirm the email. Additionally, it would be best to use an antivirus with real-time protection to help you avoid infiltrating the system with malware.

Eliminate Critical Security alert scam and related malware

If you have clicked on any buttons or links included in the phishing email, you must remove Critical Security alert and its malicious components from your system. Keep in mind that eliminating the email from your inbox should do the trick, and you would remain safe if you do not click any links inside.

However, removing it from the inbox will not do wonders if you have already clicked on the link, especially if you downloaded something. Therefore, you should immediately perform a full system scan with powerful anti-malware, such as SpyHunterCombo Cleaner or MalwarebytesMalwarebytes. To fix virus damage, we recommend trying FortectIntego.

 

 

Did this guide help?

Be the first to comment

Spyware News
Privacy preferences

We use cookies to improve your experience and analyze traffic. Some cookies enable embedded content like videos and social posts. Choose what you allow — you can change this anytime.